Address: Route de Périgueux, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Guided tours of the Grand Roc cave and unaccompanied tours of the two Laugerie Basse shelters (both are UNESCO world heritage sites) at a special reduced rate. Plan your visit to Grand Roc and discover Laugerie-Basse at your convenience. (Tickets are valid for a single entry until the end of the calendar year).
Choose the combined ticket and discover the secrets of a cliff that is a trip back in time.
[THE GRAND ROC CAVE]
Discover on April 29th, 1924 by Jean Maury, the Grand Roc cave was opened to the public in 1927.
It opens halfway up an impressive cliff overlooking the Vézère Valley at Les Eyzies.
One walks through a veritable mineral forest formed by an impressive variety and density of crystallisations rarely equalled in other caves. In places flowstone carpets the floor. Stalactites, some delicate, some imposing and translucent, hang from the ceiling. Stalagmites sprout from the floor, sometimes meeting to form columns. One is also struck by all the excentric deposits and curtains enhanced by a light intensifying the concretions’ colours.
Interior : guided tours only - 40 minutes - 75 steps to go in
A prehistoric archaeological site on the UNESCO World Heritage list
Just a short distance from the Grand Roc cave, in Les Eyzies de Tayac, the Laugerie Basse rock shelters
This prehistoric site dating from 15,000 BC to 10,000 BC, has served as a reference for pre-historians the world over. The many archaeological vestiges discovered here bear witness to unparalleled cultural and artistic activity in the region, and in Europe. The exceptional variety of the many decorated objects perfectly illustrates the quality of the drawings of prehistoric “modern” humans.
The family visit allowing you to discover all the richness of this site begins with a 3D video projection describing its main features (geology, archaeology, lifestyles and symbolic expression): an opportunity to get a closer view from every angle of the objects that make Laugerie Basse famous.
Then using a tablet (included in the tour), young and old are invited to carry out an amusing virtual archaeological dig to discover this site in enhanced reality just as it was thousands of years ago, with videos and audio comments.
Outdoor visit - no time limit
Unaccompanied tour of the Laugerie Basse shelters.
2019 OPENING HOURS
9th February - 5th April* : From 10.00 am to 12.30 pm and from 2.00 pm to 5.30 pm
6th April - 7th July : From 10.00 am to 01.00 pm and from 2.00 pm to 6.00 pm
8th July - 30th August : From 10.00 am to 7.00 pm
31th August - 3rd November : From 10.00 am to 1.00 pm and from 2.00 pm to 6.00 pm
4th November - 5th January 2020 : From 10.00 am to 12.30 pm and from 2.00 pm to 5.00 pm
Open every day
*Closed on Mondays except during school holidays and on bank holidays
Closed on 25th December 2019 and 1st January 2020
Last admissions one hour before closure