Address: Route de Périgueux, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
An exceptional jewel: the only geological cave in Dordogne on the UNESCO world heritage list.
[THE GRAND ROC CAVE]
Discover on April 29th, 1924 by Jean Maury, the Grand Roc cave was opened to the public in 1927.
It opens halfway up an impressive cliff overlooking the Vézère Valley at Les Eyzies.
One walks through a veritable mineral forest formed by an impressive variety and density of crystallisations rarely equalled in other caves. In places flowstone carpets the floor. Stalactites, some delicate, some imposing and translucent, hang from the ceiling. Stalagmites sprout from the floor, sometimes meeting to form columns. One is also struck by all the excentric deposits and curtains enhanced by a light intensifying the concretions’ colours.
Come discover this veritable mineral “ fairyland”, one of the Perigord’s great sites not to be missed.
Take advantage of the Grand Roc – Laugerie Basse twin ticket at a special reduced rate to visit the Laugerie-Basse rock shelters located only a few metres away.
Additional information :
Interior : guided tours only - 40 minutes - 75 steps to go in
2019 OPENING HOURS
9th February - 5th April* : From 10.00 am to 12.30 pm and from 2.00 pm to 5.30 pm
6th April - 7th July : From 10.00 am to 01.00 pm and from 2.00 pm to 6.00 pm
8th July - 30th August : From 10.00 am to 7.00 pm
31th August - 3rd November : From 10.00 am to 1.00 pm and from 2.00 pm to 6.00 pm
4th November - 5th January 2020 : From 10.00 am to 12.30 pm and from 2.00 pm to 5.00 pm
Open every day
*Closed on Mondays except during school holidays and on bank holidays
Closed on 25th December 2019 and 1st January 2020
Last admissions one hour before closure